Minhinnicking

‘O edrych yn ôl, rwy’n beio’r cyfiethu.’ (Gwyneth Lewis, ‘Cyfweliad â’r Bardd’)

‘Looking back, I blame translation’ (Gwyneth Lewis, ‘Interview with the Poet’ – trans. by Robert Minhinnick).

‘My work has been Minhinnicked’ – Gwyneth Lewis on Robert Minhinnick’s translations of her Welsh language poetry.

While I’m not looking at translations or Welsh language verse in my research project, it has been clear from the very conception of the project that translation and meaning are at the very heart of reading the work of bilingual writers like Lewis.

The Welsh above forms an epigraph to Robert Minhinnick’s ‘Introduction’ to The Adulterer’s Tongue: Six Welsh Poets (2003). I ignored it totally since as a non-Welsh speaker it meant nothing to me. Minhinnick only reveals what it means at the end of his ‘Introduction’, and only then did I look at it again.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

