Knowing when to stop

My bibliography is growing long and as time goes on most of the texts I’m reading are less useful and have only a tenuous link with my project direction. There are still a few key items that I need to get my head round, and some I’m waiting on accessing from or at other libraries – but for the most part I’m beginning to feel that reading is getting lethargic.

Before I fully write about my research aims in my first chapter I’m going to include a literature review in order to collate what already exists in the field and consider how this fits in with my project. I feel confident that I’m aware of the issues and current scholarship, but I’ve thought about starting writing for so long it is beginning to daunt me more than it should.

So, perhaps it is as much a case of knowing when to stop as knowing when to start.

‘Aim for the dark. It’s your only hope.’
Gwyneth Lewis, ‘Panic Attack’, Keeping Mum (2003)

One thought on “Knowing when to stop

  1. ‘So, perhaps it is as much a case of knowing when to stop as knowing when to start’
    Very true. Simply getting down 1,000 words or so always makes me feel better, but I always hold off from starting for fear of missing something out.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

