‘A literary survey of the representation of sheep…’

It has been a few days since my last blog post since I took a mysterious bout of some sort of bug.

I had a supervision today to get feedback on my first full chapter, which, thankfully was very positive. I’ve made some very minor and mainly cosmetic changes as a result, but that chapter can basically be filed away for a little while now.

I’m about half way through my second chapter today, so things are on track there too. I found myself writing a paragraph on the representation of sheep (stereotypical?), and looking up ‘Farming Facts and Figures, Wales 2010).

I’m also taking almost daily back ups (another tick to add to my list which includes manic word count checking and footnote formatting).

One thing that is striking me at this stage of my research is that 75% of writing a dissertation is independent thought, 20% is reading and 5% is remembering what the devil you’ve read and where. For example, there is a quote I thought interesting enough to post on this blog a few weeks back:

‘If you define literature in terms of language only, then a Welshman who writes in English is an English author – which would give Americans, Australians, Scotsmen and West Indians plenty to think about.’
Gwyn Jones, The Oxford Book of Welsh Verse in English (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1977)

And something clicked when I was re-reading a Lewis lecture:

‘I applied myself to deciphering the poems in the Oxford Book of Welsh Verse, and was particularly captivated by some thirteenth-century descriptions of cold weather.’
Gwyneth Lewis, ‘Criss-Crossings: Literary Adventures On Irish and Welsh Shores’, Poetry Review, 98.3 (2008), pp. 54-72 (p. 57-8).

Only a paragraph on me?

Only a paragraph on me?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

