The Sad Pencil Marker

This week I feel like my progress has been a bit negligible. I’ve done lots, but the pencil marker in the anthology I’m looking at suggest I still have more to do.

I went to two research seminars this week, one on comparative literature and another on modernism and postcoloniality. The comparative literature seminar was with Professor Michael Wood from Princeton. The general conclusion both from his paper and the questions seemed to be that comparatists don’t know where they fit in the departmental structure, and that translation studies is now the most dominant force. The second, with Professor Laura Doyle from Massachusetts-Amherst was more of a historical reconsideration of trans-nationalism; using evidence of inter-relations in trade and technology to propose the potentially ancient roots of literature.

This weekend I have fireworks to look forward to, but I also have rather a lot of travel hanging over my head in the next week and a half with an overnight in Leicester and three separate journeys to London – one of which is to attend the ‘We Will March’ NUS Demo against the appalling proposals for H.E.!

We Will March – Fund Our Future

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

