Thoughts on Endnote

Bloodshot eyes and early morning MHRA sessions during my previous degree started me thinking seriously about learning how to properly use bibliographic software.

We had a session early in my MA about RefWorks, and I tried it for my first essay and found it a little unstable and confusing. Here at Oxford, everyone is talking about Endnote; there are a variety of courses, education discount on the full version and former students claiming they wish they had used it.

I spent ages yesterday transferring my current working bibliography to it and testing it with Microsoft Word for Mac (2008). Endnote X4 doesn’t seem fully integrated with Word for Mac in the way it appears to be with Windows Word. I also had to find and download the MHRA style guide since it doesn’t come pre-loaded – which I find surprising.

Overall though I am pleased so far, and my flatmate claims it gets much easier.

For the long haul of 80,000 words, it makes sense to make a stitch in time now.

My Endnote Library

My Endnote Library

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

