Beginning Again

I’ve been chained to my desk for the past few days putting the final jigsaw pieces into the work I did last term. I set myself a deadline to get it to my supervisor today, Sunday of 0th week of the Oxford term. This seems sort of fitting because it means that as of tomorrow I can begin again, moving on to the greener pastures I’ve been looking forward to since I began.

I’m not entirely convinced this chapter hangs together as it should, but I’ve certainly put plenty of hours in at the page. Unlike undergraduate work I’m finding that increasingly I can’t hide behind other research to frame my argument, and that may take some getting used to.

This chapter has also been a steep learning curse, at times infuriating and others frustrating. However, looking at the previous generation of Ulster poets – men and women – in such detail has been a wholly adequate apprenticeship.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

