On my own

Since the pile of library books that usually sits accusingly on my desk here has all but run dry I’ve started to think about starting into my next chapter. This may be delirium, but something has to be done. However, this chapter is going to prove a little more tricksy than the previous one.

For the first time, probably in my entire academic career, I’m feeling quite alone with my thoughts on the matter. Basically, I can find no useful criticism to go with, which as a feminist critic is probably the case and point.

I’m ever conscious that there are 11 days until my transfer of status interview. I have no real clue as to how best to prepare for this – other than re-reading the materials I submitted and considering what weaknesses they may probe.

In other study related news I have had my paper ‘ “Where is she?”: Anthologies, Binaries and Northern Irish Poetry’ accepted for the ‘Time & Space in Contemporary Women’s Writing conference (yes, which I am co-organising…). I’ve also had a commission to review a new book, which isn’t unusual in itself, but for the first time the text relates to Irish poetry and feminism.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

