A rare visit

After my PhD angst about how empty college is in the vacation, I’m feeling a bit more positive about the absence of undergraduates after a visit to my college library this week. I don’t tend to use it because most of the texts I need are too specialized but also because during the term time it is hiving and as a result can be quite noisy. Most days this week I’ve had the whole library all to myself, and it was quite pleasant.

While searching for photos of the library I came across these on Flickr. They were taken in 1971 and 1977, but the interior hasn’t changed a bit and I love the effect their age conveys – plus the emptiness.

GKC/COOX/2/5/3 Wadham College, University of Oxford, 1971 & 1977

 

GKC/COOX/S/1 Wadham College, University of Oxford, 1971 & 1977

Missing, though, are the piles of unclaimed (finalists?) notes that currently line the walls.

I’m currently preparing a conference paper for the Autumn – and by the time I give it I’m sure the rest of college will be back and in the college library. So I best make use of it while I can…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

